Who is the Footballer with the Most Champions League Titles in History?


When discussing club competitions in the realm of football, the first tournament that inevitably comes to mind is the Champions League.

The pinnacle of football will witness another thrilling final next Saturday, where Real Madrid will face Borussia Dortmund at the legendary Wembley Stadium. Among the players representing the “Whites,” some might add another trophy to their extensive list of accolades.

But this brings up a pertinent question: who is the footballer with the most Champions League titles in the history of the tournament, and who follows closely on this victorious list?

First and foremost, it’s essential to distinguish between the two formats this tournament has experienced: the European Cup, which ran from 1956 to 1993, and the Champions League, from then until now. Both formats have seen Real Madrid players at the forefront.

Players with the Most Champions League Titles

In terms of winners exclusively under the new format, the list is led by ten Real Madrid players, each with five Champions League titles.

Two of these players, Cristiano Ronaldo and Toni Kroos, won their first trophies before joining Real Madrid, with Manchester United and Bayern Munich, respectively.

It is worth noting that next Saturday, in the final against Borussia Dortmund, four of these players could potentially become the leaders of this list with six titles each, should they win against Borussia. These players are Dani Carvajal, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, and Nacho Fernandez.

Players with the Most European Cups

If the list includes those footballers who have won European Cups in the classic format, one player stands out above the rest: Paco Gento, also from Real Madrid, with six trophies, won consecutively during the 1955-56, 1956-57, 1957-58, 1958-59, and 1959-60 seasons, in addition to the 1965-66 season. This record could be matched by the aforementioned four players.

The list of players with five trophies includes several who won the first five with Real Madrid, as well as two legends from AC Milan’s golden era, Paolo Maldini and Alessandro Costacurta, with titles won in the 1988-89, 1989-90, 1993-94, 2002-03, and 2006-07 seasons.