Vijay, Pujara, Jadeja Promoted To Grade ‘A’ By BCCI

Indian middle order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and opener Murali Vijay were on Wednesday promoted by the BCCI (Board of control for cricket in India) to Grade A after the CoA (Committee of Administrators) finalised the annual players contracts for the period starting from October 2016. Vijay and Pujara were in Grade B last year, while left-arm bowler was demoted to Grade C in 2015-16 after his poor run in the International circuit. The match fees for Tests, ODIs (One Day International) and Twenty 20 International were also hiked.

Opener KL Rahul and wicket-keeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha, who were in Grade C last year, have been promoted to Grade B, while Sunrises Hyderabad opener Shikhar Dhawan has been demoted to Grade C following his poor form in International cricket.

The match fee increase will be effective from Oct 1,2016. Tests will have fees of Rs. 15 lakh per game, while the fees for One Day International and T20 Internationals will be Rs.6 lakh per ODI and Rs. 3 lakh respectively.

While middle order batsman Yuvraj Singh and seamer Ashish Nehra have found place in Grade B and C subsequently, the biggest name missing is explosive middle order batsman Suresh Raina, who till recently was a permanent member of the limited over fixtures (ODIs and T20).

Seniors players like Harbhajan Singh and Gautam Gambhir are not in the list as they played before the said date, from which contracts are to come into effect.

Grade A - MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja.

Group B - KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Jasprit Bumrah.

Group C - Ambati Rayudu, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Hardik Pandya, Karun Nair, Kedar Jadhav, Ashish Nehra, Parthiv Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jayant Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *