Single Entrance Exam For All Medical Colleges-NEET

National Eligibility Entrance Test (NEET),the single entrance exam for all medical colleges,which will be conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Examination has received many protesters. Puducherry requested the Centre to exempt some parts of the Union Territory from NEET last month. On Wednesday, Tamil Nadu Assembly also passed a legislative proposal to admit students to medical colleges on the basis of marks scored in class XII exams. The law may need the Centre's agreement before it comes into force. Take a look at developments to the story:

  • The entrance examination will be conducted across 80 cities on May 7 for admission to medical and dental colleges. The examination will cover all MBBS/BDS seats for the first time.
  • The common entrance exam which was initially held in 2013 was endorsed as the answer to end multiple entrance exams.
  • The Supreme Court declared NEET illegal on the basis of petitions against the exam in 2013 but re-established the exam in 2016.
  • State reservation rules will not apply. The Centre allows only 49.5% quotas and reserved category candidates in Tamil Nadu will not be benefited from the state's 69% reservation rule.
  • To prevent many aspirants from applying online, CBSE stipulates that candidates will get only three attempts.
  • This provision was considered unfair by the candidates who also demanded thatthe aspirants should be allowed to appear for the exam till maximum eligible age,25 years and those from reserved category should get a five-year relaxation.
  • The examination will be conducted in eight vernacular languages namely Gujarati, Marathi, Bengali, Telugu, Oriya, Assamese apart from Hindi and English.
  • Students can opt a question paper in a regional language also only if the candidate appears for the test in designated centres.
  • Over 10 lakh candidates are expected to appear for the examination.
  • All candidates will have to apply online. Aadhaar Number is necessary to fill up the online application. Candidates of Jammu & Kashmir, Meghalaya and Assam have been exempted from the Aadhaar rule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *