RedInk Media Awards For Vinod Dua, Raj Kamal Jha

Veteran media personalities Vinod Dua and Raj Kamal Jha have been named for The Mumbai Press Club's RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism and Journalist of the Year respectively, a club statement said on Saturday.

Another 30 media persons will be awarded for meritorious work in print, TV and digital forms in 11 categories, including politics, crime, health and wellness, business, environment, human rights, photography, science and innovation, entertainment and lifestyle, and sports.

The awards will be conferred at an event at the National Centre for the Performing Arts, Nariman Point, on June 7, where Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will be the chief guest.

Among the country's first psephologists and election analysts on Doordarshan along with Prannoy Roy, Dua's extensive and versatile contribution to journalism in different formats and subjects has been recognised by the award.

In 1985, he hosted the show 'Janvani' (people's voice) where ordinary citizens could directly grill ministers and their policies. He later produced a talk show 'Chakravyuha' on Zee TV, followed by a current affairs show 'Parakh' (DD) and others like 'Tasveere-e-Hind', 'Chunav Chunauti', 'Pratidin' and 'Kaun Banega Mukhyamantri'.

Dua was the editor of Hindi Newstrack, the first video magazine in the country from the India Today Group, a format which was later phased out, and was editor of NDTV India. He presently anchors 'Jan Gan Man Ki Baat' on the digital platform The Wire.Com.

Jha, Chief Editor of The Indian Express Group which he joined in 1996, is credited with providing exemplary stewardship to the newspaper since the past two years, pulling it back from a drift to focused reporting and restoring its best known prowess -- investigative journalism.

Having worked with The Statesman and India Today Group, he led from the front to make The Indian Express part of an international investigative team which cracked the global money-laundering scam, now famous as "The Panama Papers".

Earlier recipients of the top RedInk awards include late Vinod Mehta, Kuldip Nayar, N. Ram, Mrinal Pande, Prannoy Roy and T.N. Ninan.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *