Opposition’s Meira Kumar Breaks 50-Year-Old Record, In Defeat

The NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind’s win in the election of a president has been called by BJP a truly historic win. But the second Dalit President may not be the only one who will be setting records. The joint opposition's candidate, Meira Kumar, she polled the highest votes by a losing candidate; too has created one.

The race was tried to run by Ms Kumar to Rashtrapati Bhavan into the ideology battle and not indiciduals, received 3.67 lakh votes out of 10.69 lakh valid votes polled.

From the Judiciary Justice Rao has resigned to contest the election, lost to Zakir Hussain but secured a record 3.63 lakh votes. It was an unbeaten record for 50 years. The second record of  Justice Rao's is still intact; he got 43% of the vote share. At 34 per cent, Ms Kumar lags by about 10 percentage points.
To the NDA candidates the leader of Congress was also appointed about 66% vote share, which was les than the 70% that of the BJP Senior Leader who claimed for Mr Kovind. Nearly half a dozen Presidents it was also pointed that were elected with more votes than the NDA's candidate. Randeep Surjewala said, "It is an eye-opener for those who are arrogating only based upon numbers," the Congress'


The former Lok Sabha Speaker who knew from the start that she didn't have the numbers on her side, had pitched the election as a battle for ideology and asked lawmakers to vote according to their conscience, not party line.

She predictably lost the election, minute after, Meira Kumar came out of her residence of South Delhi to declare that her battle would continue. Mr Kovind was also congratulated by Ms Kumar and cautioned him of the challenge ahead; to uphold the Constitution "in these most challenging times."

"The President of India enjoys a unique position as defender and protector of the Constitution, upholder of democratic traditions and as supreme commander of the Indian Armed Forces," she said.




For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *