On Impeachment Move Against CJI, Congress Withdraws Petition

On Impeachment Move Against CJI, Congress Withdraws Petition

New Delhi: The Congress today withdrew its petition on the impeachment move against Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, rejected recently by Vice President Venkaiah Naidu.

The petitioners, two Congress lawmakers, questioned the decision to assign the case to a five-judge constitution bench of the Supreme Court.

Also Read: Congress Challenges Rejection Of Impeachment Move Against CJI

The petition had said Venkaiah Naidu's decision to reject the opposition's impeachment notice was "illegal and arbitrary" and taken in a "cavalier, cryptic and abrupt manner", without an inquiry.

The judges assigned to hear the Congress' challenge were Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde, NV Ramana, Arun Mishra and AK Goel. Justices Bobde and Ramana are both in line for chief justice. Justice Sikri, who will head the bench, is number six in seniority.

Last month, the impeachment petition signed by over 60 Rajya Sabha parliamentarians called for Justice Misra's impeachment six months before he retires. The motion "doesn't deserve to be admitted", Mr Naidu, the chairman of the Rajya Sabha, said just three days later.

Support our credible journalism by subscribing to dailyaddaaFor the latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.