Travel

Travel Quisque scelerisque purus quis eros sollicitudin gravida. Quisque sque…

Based just east of the Roman Forum, the colossal stone amphitheater noted as the Colosseum was instructed around A.D. 70-72 by Emperor Vespasian of the Flavian empire as a gift to the Roman people. In A.D. 80, Vespasian’s son Titus opened the Colosseum–formally known as the Flavian Amphitheater–with 100 days of games, counting gladiatorial combats and wild animal fights. After four centuries of alive use, the brilliant arena fell into laxity, and up until the 18th century it was used as a origin of building materials. Though two-thirds of the original Colosseum has been demolished over time, the amphitheater remains a famous tourist destination, as well as an ideal symbol of Rome and its long, fierce history.

Even after the immoral Roman emperor Nero took his own life in A.D. 68, his anarchy and excesses fueled a series of civil wars. No petty than four emperors took the dignity in the fierce year after Nero’s death; the fourth, Vespasian, would end up ruling for 10 years (A.D. 69-79). The Flavian dictators, as Vespasian and his sons Titus (79-81) and Domitian (81-96) were noted, attempted to tone down the excesses of the Roman court, build up Senate authority and promote public welfare. Around 70-72, Vespasian rebounded to the Roman people the lavish land near the center of the city, where Nero had built an gigantic palace for himself after a great fire frayed through Rome in A.D. 64. On the site of that Golden Palace, he imposed, would be made a new amphitheater where the public could enjoy gladiatorial conflicts and other forms of entertainment.

After nearly a decade of development–a relatively quick time period for a design of such a grand scale–Titus officially devoted the Colosseum in A.D. 80 with a festival including 100 days of games. A well-loved emperor, Titus had earned his people’s intensity with his handling of recovery attempts after the disgraceful eruption of Vesuvius in A.D. 79, which demolished the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii. The final stages of development of the Colosseum were completed under the dynasty of Titus’ brother and successor, Domitian.

 

For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

 

 

Perchance the most marked symbol of China and its long and colorful history, the Great Wall of China actually subsists of numerous walls and citadels, many running parallel to each other. Marginally conceived by Emperor Qin Shi Huang (c. 259-210 B.C.) in the third century B.C. as a means of preventing forays from barbarian nomads into the Chinese Empire, the wall is one of the most broad construction projects ever completed. The best-known and best-preserved area of the Great Wall was built in the 14th through 17th centuries A.D., during the Ming empire (1368-1644). Though the Great Wall never definitely prevented attackers from entering China, it came to function more as a cognitive barrier between Chinese civilization and the world, and remains a powerful badge of the country’s enduring strength.

Nevertheless the beginning of the Great Wall of China can be drawned to the third century B.C., many of the citadels included in the wall date from hundreds of years earlier, when China was cleft into a number of individual kingdoms during the so-called Warring States Period. Around 220 B.C., Qin Shi Huang, the first dictator of a unified China, ordered that earlier reinforcement between states be removed and a number of existing walls along the northern border be joined into a single system that would expand for more than 10,000 li (a li is about one-third of a mile) and conserve China against attacks from the north

Development of the “Wan Li Chang Cheng,” or 10,000-Li-Long Wall, was one of the most determined building projects ever undertaken by any civilization. The popular Chinese general Meng Tian directed the project, and was said to have used a colossal army of soldiers, felons and commoners as workers. Built mostly of earth and stone, the wall covered from the China Sea port of Shanhaiguan over 3,000 miles west into Gansu province. In some strategic ranges, sections of the wall overlayed for maximum security (including the Badaling stretch, north of Beijing, that was later reestablished by the Ming empire). From a base of 15 to 50 feet, the Great Wall rose some 15-30 feet high and was covered by ramparts 12 feet or higher; guard towers were assigned at intervals along it.

 

The Victoria Memorial, a enormous monument made of white marble based in the heart of the City of Festivity, Kolkata (erstwhile Calcutta) in West Bengal, India is one of the most popular monuments in West Bengal that has become a museum and famous tourist spot of the state. A innovation of George Curzon, 1st Marquess Curzon of Kedleston and Viceroy of India, this monument epitomising allure and dignity was dedicated to the memory of Queen Victoria (1819–1901).

 

This grand and charming memorial not only stands as reminiscence to the decree of British Crown in the Indian subcontinent but also stands out as an magnificent architectural gem in Indo-Saracenic pastor style. It is a must visit tourist destination for first time visitors to experience the aspect of Victorian era in the midst of the bustling metro city of Kolkata.

 

Queen Victoria who endured Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland since June 20, 1837 and princess of India since May 1, 1876 passed away on January 22, 1901. Ensuing her demise, Lord Curzon conceived the idea of constructing a huge and grand building with a museum and gardens where one and all can have a flash of the rich past.

 

The authority stone of the monument was laid on January 4, 1906 by the Prince of Wales George V who next became King George V on May 6, 1910. In 1921, the memorial was opened to public; despite it became part of a rural city instead of the capital city as by the time its architecture completed, the capital of India was conveyed from Calcutta to New Delhi under the instruction of King George V. An application made by Curzon to fund the architecture of the memorial saw many including royals, individuals along with the British government in London to come forward and contribute voluntarily. The total cost of building the memorial came to Rs. 105, 00,000

 

 

For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

 

 

Here is where the involution green hills of Ireland come to a shrilling halt. Astonishing cliffs drop seven hundred feet into the Atlantic, creating the Cliffs Of Moher  one of the highest coastlines in western Europe.

Some travel guides praised waiting for a sunny day to visit the cliffs, which is nice, if you have the leisure of waiting for sunny skies in Ireland. But it’s better still to go on a day of erratic weather, the kind of wind-broom afternoon that can change from sun to clouds to storms in a entity of minutes. The climatic power and beauty of the cliffs are brought to life under stormy skies. To stand at the tip of the zig-zagging cliffs makes for an fascinating place to watch the sky closes in, bringing a nebulous curtain of rain from the distance. Then, just as hastily, the clouds cripple and retreat, disappearing shadows over the inland hills as the sun returns.

 Based in County Clare, on the southwestern edge of the Burren land on Ireland’s west coast, the Cliffs of Moher draw roughly one million visitors every year, making the field one of the country’s top tourist attractions. But don’t let the thought of peoples at the Cliffs of Moher Geological Park deter you: the area has been gracefully preserved through careful planting by the Clare County Council. For the most part, the scenic views of cliffs are cheerfully unobstructed by man-made elements; even the park’s facilities—gift shop, museum, cafes, restrooms—were assembled into the side of a hill, rendering them nearly invisible.

 Opening from the visitors’ center, the aisle to the Cliffs of Moher forks off in two directions. On the right, a paved gallery leads up to O’Brien’s Tower, which spots the highest point of the cliffs. The rook-shaped architecture was built in 1835 by Sir Cornelius O’Brien. Nevertheless the tower was officially built as an conclusion point for Victorian-era tourists from England, tale has it that O’Brien’s true intent in constructing the tower was to affect female visitors.

 

 

For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

 

 

 

 

Literary stalwarts from across the world are set to share their unique perspectives on globally relevant issues such as environmental conservation, natural history and spirituality at the eighth edition of the Mountain Echoes Literary Festival to be held in Bhutan from August 25.

An initiative of the India-Bhutan Foundation, in association with India's leading literary consultancy, Siyahi, the three-day festival will enable the audience to engage in myriad forms of storytelling.

"Over the last eight years Mountain Echoes has established itself as one of the most thoughtful, moving and evocative celebrations of literature anywhere on our planet. The shared narratives of Bhutan and India, and of mountain regions everywhere, expand the space for insights across cultures and geographies," festival co-director and celebrated author Namita Gokhale said in a statement.

Major themes that will dominate the festival this year include natural history and environment, business and leadership, fashion, magic and mentalism, food, spirituality and Buddhism.

A special inaugural ceremony will be held in Thimphu, the capital city of Bhutan, on August 24, the organisers said.

Australian author Markus Zusak, known for his international best-sellers such as 'The Book Thief'; Francesca Beard, a London-based writer and performance poet; American television host and author Padma Lakshmi and noted Indian author Ashwin Sanghi are among the leading personalities set to attend the festival of ideas, creativity and culture.

The highlights from the Bhutanese delegates will include ace photographer and filmmaker Pawo Choyning Dorji, Khenpo Sonam Bumdhen of the Central Monastic Body, and front-runners of the Bhutanese fashion world Chimmi Choden and Chandrika Tamang.

Other well known authors set to attend the 2017 edition of the festival include Prayaag Akbar, award winning journalist and author of the bestselling book 'Leila'; leading mythologist Devdutt Pattanaik, Sahitya Akademi Award winner Jerry Pinto and Sharanya Manivannan, author of the critically acclaimed 'The High Priestess Never Marries: Stories of Love and Consequence', among others.

"The vision of the festival is to present a confluence of literature, art and music from both India and Bhutan," Siok Sian Dorji, festival co-director and Founder of the Bhutan Centre for Media and Democracy, said.

"Masterpieces on canvas, through music and performances, or literature, there's something for everyone. The festival as always is free for everyone to attend," Dorji added.

 

For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

 

A classic of architecture, the Sydney Opera House is one of the world’s most popular buildings. You can take a picture on the steps of the Opera House, explore it awesome exterior and brilliant interior on daily tours, and enjoy performances held under its historic white sails.

On the brink of Sydney Harbour, one of the world’s enormous natural harbours, the Sydney Opera House is a UNESCO World Heritage site. It was classified as “one of the indisputable masterpieces of human creativity, not only in the 20th century but in the history of humankind”.

This beautiful house hosts 1,600 performances every year including ballet, opera, theatre, dance, music and comedy along with children’s shows and more. You can blend shows with delicious food at the Opera Kitchen and Bennelong Restaurant, or like pre-drinks drinks at the Opera Bar.

For regular tours, join the Sydney Opera House Tour, the Backstage Tour or the Tour and Tasting Plate, which adds a guided tour and a three-tier critic tasting plate at the Opera Kitchen. Foreign language tours are in Mandarin, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish and German.

The near by train station is Circular Quay.

New Delhi :  A lot of people wish to visit international destination, including during vacations, but actor Kunal Kapoor likes to see different parts of India, which he considers a "special" country, and more attractive.

Kunal, along with his friend of over two decades, Cyrus Sahukar, went on a trip from Dharamsala to Kaza as part of upcoming TV show "Great Escape with Kunal and Cyrus", which will be aired on Fox Life starting from June 23.

"I have learned from this trip that there is so much to see within our own country. When we plan a holiday, the first instinct is to go and see another country," Kunal told IANS.

"But when you do a trip like this and travel from city to city in a day, then you realise how much cultural diversity is there in our own country which we can explore. 

"India really is a special country. In every city, the dialect changes, the food changes and the way people live also changes. I really liked to travel within the country a lot more than abroad. I saw parts of India which I haven't seen before," he added.

Asked why he didn't go on the trip with his wife Naina Bachchan, Kunal said: "There are two things -- one you want to travel with somebody with whom you'll enjoy travelling. Secondly, you would like to travel with somebody with whom you are comfortable in front of the camera. 

"Some people who you are really close to might not be the ones with whom you'll be comfortable in front of the camera. So, Cyrus was perfect for this trip."

Kunal, best known for his roles in films like "Rang De Basanti", "Welcome to Sajjanpur" and "Luv Shuv Tey Chicken Khurana", is currently prepping for Akshay Kumar-starrer "Gold".

Talking about his future projects, Kunal said: "In a week, we will start shooting for ‘Gold'. There are a couple of scripts that I am writing which will go into production later this year. Also, I am really looking forward to ‘Raagdesh', which is slated to release in the end of July."

Kunal has also been roped in to play the title role in upcoming superhero web series "Doga".

"Its shooting will start next year. It's a product of Raj Comics. They are the ones who made the character. We have joined hands with them for the film," Kunal said.

"‘Doga' is larger than life character, but the one I am playing in ‘Raagdesh' is not larger than life."

 

For latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

 

 

“Perito Moreno is the frosty glacier ever! You’ll see so many bit of ice fall into the water!”

 

“The end of the glacier calves generally, we saw tons of ice falling!”

 

After hearing our cohort travellers and online articles chronicle Perito Moreno as the most fascinating glacier, we couldn’t wait to witness this natural anomaly ourselves.

 

Outfitted with our camera and diverse fully charged batteries, we bounced on the local bus to take us to Glacier Perito Moreno in Parque Nacional Los Glaciares just farther of the city of El Calafate in Argentina’s Patagonia.

 

The drive there was fanstastic, but the finest was yet to come. There was buzz in the air as everyone on the bus delicately awaited for the door to open. When it did, a flood of visitors descended on the park, heartily searching for the path to lead us to the glacier.

 

Funnily abundant, there were no gestures for this major attraction and we had a tough time finding the 250 km² glacier! Finally, we saw the avenue and made our way along the easy to follow metal path.

 

There it was, an inclusive, flashy blue mass of ice.

 

This iceberg is part of the Southern Patagonian Ice Field, which is common with the neighbouring country of Chile. It’s the third largest inventory of fresh water in the world. But, the best part is that this iceberg is restricted, meaning that rather than fall back due to climate change and other environmental concerns (as many in the world are), Perito Moreno is enlarging and advancing.

 

We designate this the “guilt-free glacier” because we could watch it ace, calve and melt without feeling like it was mankind’s error.

 

 

 

 

Brandenburg Gate, German Brandenburger Tor, the only halting town gate of Berlin, Germany, existing at the western end of the avenue Unter den Linden. It has furnished as a symbol of both the distribution of Germany and the country’s reunification and is one of Berlin’s most-visited memorials.

 

The gate was instructed by Frederick William II as an avenue to Unter den Linden, which led to the Prussian palace. The Gate was built in 1788–91 by Carl G. Langhans after the classic of the Propylaea in Athens. The sandstone architecture is poised of 12 Doric columns that create five portals—the middle of which was basically reserved for royal use only—and stands roughly 66 feet (20 metres) high, 213 feet (65 metres) wide, and 36 feet (11 metres) deep. It is belted by two small buildings, Haus Liebermann and Haus Sommer, which were constructed in the late 1990s by architect Josef Paul Kleihues to reinstate the pavilions that were destroyed during World War II. The gate is festooned with comforts and sculptures designed by Gottfried Schadow, the majority of them based on the deeds of Heracles.

 

In 1793 a quadriga icon depicting the goddess of victory mannering a symbol of peace was added. During the French dodge of Berlin (1806–08), Napolean took the icon to Paris, where it remained until 1814. The epic gate was later used broadly in Nazi propaganda, and a parade was held there on Adolf Hitler’s climb to power in 1933. The entire architecture was heavily damaged during World War II, and in 1957–58 it was renewed, with the quadriga adjust from the original molds.

 

From 1961 to 1989 the Gate came to embody divided Germany, as the Berlin Wall shut off entry to the gate for both East and West Germans. It provided as the backdrop for U.S. Pres. Ronald Reagan’s popular 1987 elocution in which he entreated the Soviet chief, “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall.” The gate was reopened on December 22, 1989, in the develpoment of the reunification of East and West Berlin, when West German Authority Helmut Kohl walked through it to meet East German Prime Minister Hans Modrow. It underwent reclamation beginning in late 2000 and regularly reopened in 2002, nevertheless it remained closed to vehicle traffic.

Chichén Itzá, ravaged ancient Maya city occupying an range of 4 square miles (10 square km) in south-central Yucatan state, Mexico. It is based some 90 miles (150 km) east-northeast of Uxmal and 75 miles (120 km) east-southeast of the stylish city of Merida. The only source of water in the barren region around the spot is from wells (cenotes) formed by sinkholes in limestone constructions. Two big cenotes on the spot made it a good place for the city and gave it its name, from chi (“mouths”), chen (“wells”), and Itzá, the name of the Maya clan that settled there. Chichén Itzá was nominated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1988.

Chichén was established about the 6th century ce, apparently by Maya peoples of the Yucatan Peninsula who had engaged the land since the Pre-Classic, or Sensitive, Period (1500 bce–300 ce). The principal early buildings are in an architectural style noted as Puuc, which shows a number of deflections from the styles of the southern lowlands. These earliest architectures are to the south of the Main Plaza and add the Akabtzib (“House of the Dark Writing”), the Chichanchob (“Red House”), the Iglesia (“Church”), the Casa de las Monjas (“Nunnery”), and the tower El Caracol (“The Snail”). There is confirmation that, in the 10th century, after the debacle of the Maya cities of the southern lowlands, Chichén was breached by foreigners, probably Maya speakers who had been strongly altered by—and perchance were under the direction of—the Toltec of central Mexico. These intruders may have been the Itzá for whom the site is known; some authorities, yet, believe the Itzá arrived 200 to 300 years later.

In any event, the intruders were responsible for the development of such big buildings as El Castillo (“The Castle”), a pyramid that rises 79 feet (24 metres) above the Main Plaza. El Castillo has four sides, each with 91 stairs and facing a basic direction; counting the step on the top platform, these blend for a total of 365 steps—the number of days in the solar year. At the same the spring and autumnal equinoxes, shadows cast by the setting sun give the display of a snake undulating down the stairways. A carving of a boast serpent at the top of the pyramid is figurative of Quetzalcoatl (known to the Maya as Kukulcán), one of the big idols of the ancient Mesoamerican chapels.