In Bengal Mamata Banerjee’s Party Ahead In Civic Polls-Worry For BJP

Mamata Banerjee Chief Minister’s Trinamool Congress party is a leading in all seven Municipal Corporation, where on Sunday in West Bengal the elections were held, and looking set to make major inroads the four civic bodies in the Darjeeling hills, a stronghold for years of BJP ally the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM).



While the Darjeeling, Kurseong and Kalimpong corporations were held by the GJM, Mirik is a new municipality.


In the plains of Rajganj and Domkal, Congress traditionally strongholds, too the Trinamool is forging ahead. Near Kolkata in Pujali. Fresh elections have been demanded by the opposition parties in all the three Municipalities after they withdrew their candidates from many seats on Sunday, polling day, because of booth capturing and violence, which they blamed to the ruling party.



Called it by the left leader Sitaram Yechury a “Mockery of democracy by the left leader Sitaram Yechury and blatant misuse of the state machinery” while to the court the Congress has gone to seek that the election can be cancelled. This morning the Kolkata court will hear the petition.


The allegations by the Trinamool Congress has been rejected and the BJP is blamed for the violence which saw clashes between the Political workers, EVMs damaged in several wards and policeman injured.



In the hill municipalities the voting was largely peaceful. Today the Trinamool win will be a blow for the BJP party, which has embarked on a "Mission Bengal" that envisages installing the party's government by the next assembly elections in a state where it has had minimal presence till recently.


Immediately, Amit Shah the BJP Chief has instructed the state leader to make sure that the party wins with the maximum seats from the Bengal in general election of 2019.



Earlier this year when the party came second to the Mamata Banerjee’s party in a by-election in West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin assembly seat- increasing its vote share substantially in the one year since the assembly elections – Amit Shah had thanked voters for making the BJP "the principal opposition party" in the state.


From Bengal the BJP had won the two seats of Lok Sabha in 2014, from four to 17% increased its vote share. The Trinamool had won the 34 of the state's 40 seats of parliament. Last year, Mamata Banerjee's party swept the assembly elections for a second term for her as Chief Minister. The BJP best performance ever in the state by winning the four seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *