Sharad Navratri: Which Incarnation Of Goddess Durga Is Worshiped On Each Day Of Navratri?

Sharad Navratri: Which Incarnation Of Goddess Durga Is Worshiped On Each Day Of Navratri?

Sharad Navratri: Which Incarnation Of Goddess Durga Is Worshiped On Each Day Of Navratri?

New Delhi : Widely Navratri is celebrated twice a year. Between Vasant Navratri and Sharad Navratri, Sharada Navratri is given more importance. According to the Hindu calendar, the celebrations begin on the first day of the month of Ashvin which is Ashwin Shukla Paksha Pratipada.

In the first three days, the Goddess is worshiped as a spiritual force called Durga is commonly known as Kali in order to destroy all our impurities. In the next three days, Maa Durga is adored as a giver of spiritual wealth. Lakshmi, being the goddess of wealth is considered to have the power of bestowing inexhaustible wealth on her devotees. And in final three days, Saraswati,the goddess of wisdom is worshiped. Hence in the nine nights of worship, devotees seek the blessings of the divine femininity in order to have all-round success in life.

1.Shailputri (First Day)

The first day of these nine nights is dedicated to the Goddess 'Shailputri', greatest form of Shakti, is the companion of Lord Shiva. The literal meaning of Shailaputri is the daughter (putri) of the mountains (shaila). She is first among Navadurgas and also known as Sati Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati. The representation of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, rides a bull and also carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands.

2.Brahmacharini (Second Day) 

The second form of Mother Goddess name is derived from the word 'Brahma', which implies 'Tapa' or penance. She has rosary in her right hand whereas holds a water utensil in her left hand. She is blissful and showers happiness, peace, and prosperity on her devotees. 

3.Chandraghanta (Third Day)  

Goddess Chandraghanta is the symbolic representation of beauty and bravery. She carries a ‘chandra’ or half-moon on her forehead which is in the form of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. That's why she is known as ‘Chandraghanta’. She is the preacher of bravery and can win the battle against any demons.

Also Read : Navratri 2018: All You Need To Know About The Nine Holy Day


4.Kushmanda (Fourth Day) 

Kushmanda fourth form of the mother goddess is the creator of the entire Universe. The word Kushmanda is made from ‘Ku-shm-anda’ which implies ‘Ku’ as a little; ‘ushma’ as warmth; ‘anda’ as the cosmic egg. Until her light spreaded in all directions like sunrays, the entire universe was just a void of darkness. It is believed that she has eight or ten hands. Besides riding a lion, she also holds weapons, glitter, rosary, etc., in her hands.

5.Skand Mata (Fifth Day) 

Skand Mata is referred to as the chief warrior of the Gods army, the Skanda. She was selected by ods as their commander in chief in the war against the demons. She has four arms and three eyes, also carries the infant Skanda in her upper right arm and a lotus in her right hand. 

6.Katyayani (Sixth Day) 

The sixth day of Navratri is dedicated to the goddess 'Katyayani' who has three eyes and four hands. She was the daughter of Kata as an avatar of Durga. That's why she is known as Katyayani.

7.Kaalratri (Seventh Day)

Goddess Kaalratri maks her devotees fearless. She has a dark complexion, disheveled hair, a fearless posture while her vehicle is a donkey. Her gesture of protection assures all of us freedom from fear and troubles. She is also named as ‘Shubhamkari’, the one who does good things.

8.Maha Gauri (Eighth Day) 

Maha Gauri is the representative of calmness and exhibits wisdom. She rides on a bull, wears white clothes, and has four arms. Her lower right-hand carries a trident whereas upper left-hand holds a ‘damaru’ (a small rattle drum) and the lower left hand is for granting boons to her devotees.

9.Siddhidatri (Ninth Day)

Siddhidatri is believed to have supernatural healing powers. As a manifestation of the Mother Goddess, she blesses all Gods, saints, yogis, tantric and her devotees. According to ‘Devi Bhagvata Purana', Lord Shiva worshipped her and later he was blessed with all Siddhies (supernatural powers). It was because of her blessings, Lord Shiva's half body became female and another half body that of a male in the avatar of Ardhnarishvara.

Wishing you all a very Happy Navratri 2018. Happy Fasting!!!

For Offbeat news Click Here

Support Our Credible Journalism By subscribing to dailyaddaa. For the latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter