IndVsNZ 1st ODI: All-round effort helps India Defeat The Kiwi

IndVsNZ 1st ODI: All-round effort helps India Defeat The Kiwi

IndVsNZ 1st ODI: All-round effort helps India Defeat The Kiwi 

New Delhi: Team India's all round performance helped them defeat the host New Zealand in first One day international by eight wickets via the Duckworth-Lewis (D/L) method. The match took place at the McLean Park here on Wednesday.

The Indian side, who was asked to field first and the bowlers restricted the hosts to a mere score of  157. The Indian batters chased down the easy target to attain 1-0 lead in the five match series.

While chasing, the Indian openers Rohit Sharma (11) and Shikhar Dhawan (75 not out) started off well, and scored a 41-runs partnership before Rohit was dismissed by Doug Bracewell in the 10th over. He was caught by Martin Guptil in the slips.

After Rohit Sharma's wicket fell down,  sun stopped the play for around 30 minutes. The sun rays were directly getting into the players eyes which prompted the umpires to suspend the proceedings.

After the break, the match was reduced to 49 overs and India had to chase 156.

When the match resumed, skipper Virat Kohli came on to field to join Dhawan. The duo hammered the New Zealand bowlers all round the park. Shikhar Dhawan reached the landmark of 5000 ODI runs and became the second fastest Indian to reach the milestone.

However, in the 29th over, Kohli was sent packing by Lockie Ferguson when scoreboard was reading 132. He was caught behind by Tom Latham.

New batsman Ambati Rayudu (13 not out) and Dhawan then joined hands and completed the proceeding with 85 balls remaining.

Ferguson and Bracewell took one wicket each for New Zealand.

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav and pacer Mohammed Shami's stole the show for India as they helped their team restrict New Zealand to a paltry 157 runs.

While Kuldeep's figures were 4/39, Shami was also phenomenal with the leather, scalping three Kiwi wickets conceding just 19 runs from his six overs.

The other bowlers, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kedar Jadhav picked two and one wicket, respectively.

The New Zealand's captain, Kane Williamson who led from the front scored 64 runs, while other batsman failed to perform.

Opting to bat, the hosts had the worst possible start as Shami struck early sending back both the openers -- Martin Guptill (5) and Colin Munro (8), cheaply.

Newcomers Williamson and Ross Taylor (24) then tried to rescue their side from the early damage, taking New Zealand past the 50-run mark in 13.3 overs.

However, Taylor's stay was cut short by Chahal in the 15th over with the hosts at 52/3.

With the addition of just 24 runs in the Kiwi scorecard, Chahal struck again to dismiss incoming batsman Tom Latham (11). Jadhav and Shami then joined the party as they sent back Henry Nicholls (12) and Mitchell Santner (14), leaving the hosts reeling at 133/6.

Williamson, however, continued to show resistance and kept one end safe, but lacked support from the other end. In the 34th over Kuldeep sent the Kiwi skipper back to pavilion. 

he final nail in the coffin, was struck by Williamson, picking the tailenders -- Doug Bracewell (7), Lockie Ferguson (0) and Trent Boult (1) in quick succession to wrap up the host in just 38 overs.

Brief scores:

New Zealand 157 all out (Kane Williamson 64, Ross Taylor 24; Kuldeep Yadav 4/39) vs 

India 156/2 (Shikhar Dhawan 75 not out, Virat Kohli 45; Doug Bracewell 1/23)

(Inputs from news agency IANS)