Bihar CM''s 2019 Deal: 16 Seats For Him, 17 For BJP

Bihar CM

Bihar CM''s 2019 Deal: 16 Seats For Him, 17 For BJP 

New Delhi: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's wish has been granted after weeks of cold war with the BJP. The Bihar CM has recieved a "respectable" chunk of Bihar's 40 Lok Sabha seats, almost equal to the larger ally, for next year's general elections. Mr According to the sources, Kumar will get 16 seats, just one less than the BJP, sources have told NDTV. Sources said the deal was sealed in Delhi on the second week of September between PM Modi, Amit Shah and Nitish Kumar who managed to keep up a steady pressure on the larger ally.  Ram Vilas Paswan and and Upendra Kushwaha, the other NDA allies in the state, will get five seats will get two seats.

This week, a formal announcement is expected, the Bhartiya Janata Party had been waiting for a nod from the other allies. There has also been the question of a contingency plan in case Upendra Kushwaha, seen as a restive ally, decides to walk out. The sources said that, two seats earmarked for him will be evenly divided between the BJP and the JD(U).

Every party in the NDA in the state has had to scale down on their existing number of seats to accommodate Nitish Kumar, whose party won only two seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP has taken the biggest hit - yielding five of the 22 seats it currently holds. Ram Vilas Paswan and Upendra Kushwaha's parties also have to lose one seat each from the number they currently have in Parliament.

Also Read: BJP Leader H Raja Apologises To Madras High Court, "Spoke In Fit Of Rage"

The Bihar CM has been unyielding - sending back the BJP to the drawing board when they came up with a draft plan two months ago, giving themselves a lion's share of 22 seats. His leaders had held out for what they called a more "equitable" distribution.

Bhupendra Yadav, Senior BJP leader had hastened to assure that the formula was by no means final. "Nothing has been finalised, once it is, you will come to know," he had said.

The Bhartiya Janata Party is explaining the current formula with one used by the Grand Alliance in the 2015 assembly elections.

Under it, The Bihar chief minister had taken a very generous route to keep the fledgling alliance intact. Despite Nitish Kumar's party having 122 seats in the state assembly, he had contested 101 seats, giving an equal number to Lalu Yadav, whose party had only 22 lawmakers. The Congress, which had just four lawmakers, got 43 seats.

The Bhartiya Janata Party's other psychological advantage for is the first time since 1996 when it contested its first parliamentary election along with Nitish Kumar's party, the regional powerhouse, is contesting fewer than 20 seats. The Bhartiya Janata Party has got a numerical advantage, even if it is by one seat.

For More Politics News Click Here

Support Our Credible Journalism By subscribing to dailyaddaa. For the latest news on dailyaddaa, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter